Krukenburg ruins

Romanesque Kirchburg ruins from the 13th century

Krukenburg was an unusual church fortress because it was simultaneously a defence and residential building and accommodated worldly and spiritual powers who not seldomly lived together as enemies.

The Helmarshaus Abbot Wino was sent to Jerusalem in the year 1033 by his bishop in order to procure the plans of the Church of the Holy Sepulcher, in order for this plan to be realised on the Krukenberg. But this church was destroyed in 1009. To avoide returning empty-handed, the abbot brought home the ground plan of a Greek cross-plan church, assuming that this design most likely corresponded to the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. The fortress was never destroyed by war. It decayed gradually. The entire facility was restored and renovated in recent years in order to preserve at least the ruins of these unique battlements for posterity.

Opening hours

Daily from 10 am to 6 pm, from April 1 to October 31


Café zur Krukenburg

Telephone (05672) 755



Bad Karlshafen GmbH Gesellschaft für Standort und Marketing

Hafenplatz 8
34385 Bad Karlshafen
Phone: +49 5672 - 9999 22
Fax: +49 5672 - 9999 25

» Send Email